Pages Menu
Categories Menu


The Mayo Person of the Year award has been awarded to a host of well-known Mayo people over the years who have made an exceptional contribution to Mayo and its people.


The Meitheal of the Year award is presented to a voluntary group organisation based in Mayo who, in the opinion of the adjudicators, has achieved great distinction or done most for the county, community and its people.


A call for nominations for these prestigious awards will open in Sept 2014 and close on Friday December 12th 2014.  The Nomination submission should include any relevant information on the contribution of the nominee to Mayo directly and indirectly. Nominations for these awards are requested in hard copy and should be submitted by post in triplicate to the Hon. Secretary, Mr Paul Sammin, 36 The Paddock Square, Adamstown, Co. Dublin. Deadline for submissions for both the Meitheal and Person of the Year awards is Friday, December 14. Any submissions received after this date will not be eligible for consideration by the adjudicating panel. The Committee and members of Mayo Association Dublin are not involved in the selection of the winners of these awards. Each year, the Committee of the Association selects an independent panel of 3 adjudicators to whom appropriate nominations are passed on to for consideration. The winners will be announced in mid January 2015 and they will be guests of honour of the Mayo Association Dublin at their annual Mayo Person of the Year and Meitheal Award gala dinner, held every February in Dublin.  Tickets are now available to be pre-booked through members of the committee, or through Paul Sammin, Hon Secretary at For further information contact Mairead Kenny, PRO, at or Paul Sammin, Hon. Secretary at MAYO