We are delighted to announce the comeback details for the Mayo Association Dublin Annual Awards 2022.

The Mayo Person of the Year award has been awarded to a host of well-known Mayo people over the years. To qualify for the Mayo Person of the Year award the person must have been born in Mayo, or of Mayo parentage, or who has lived in Mayo for not less than seven years and who, in the opinion of a panel of three independent adjudicators, has made an exceptional contribution to Mayo or its people. The Meitheal of the Year award will be presented to a voluntary group or organisation based in Mayo, whose majority of its membership were born in Mayo or of Mayo parentage and who, in the opinion of the adjudicators, have achieved the greatest distinction or done most for the county or its people.

Chairperson, Bernardine MacBride Walsh welcomes the return of an in-person event for the association. She commented; The last time we held a function in Dublin was 14th February 2020, in the Ballsbridge Hotel, where Martina Jennings, CEO Mayo Roscommon Hospice Foundation was crowned Mayo Person of the Year 2020. There’s a real appetite amongst Mayo people in Dublin and those in the county to come together
once again in celebration of our heritage and its award recipients. The lunch has always been a popular date in the calendar, and we anticipate great demand across all Mayo networks for our comeback event”.

The Nomination submissions should include any relevant information on the contribution of the nominee to Mayo directly and indirectly. A strong application generally includes an executive summary, various narratives/articles /photographs /awards reflecting the various contributions/achievements of the nominee and may include letters of support for the nomination. Quality above quantity is important in relation to the presentation of the nomination.

Nomination Forms are available via Paul Sammin [email protected] or

Noel Howley [email protected]

The Committee and members of Mayo Association Dublin are not involved in the selection of the winners of these awards. Each year, the Committee of the Association selects an independent panel of 3 adjudicators to whom qualifying nominations are passed on to for consideration.

The 2022 Awards Luncheon will be hosted at The Intercontinental Hotel Ballsbridge Dublin 4, on Friday the 3rd February 2023. Provisional bookings for places/tables at this event can be made through Paul Sammin [email protected] or Noel Howley [email protected]

10% of the sales proceeds will go to Mayo Charities. Closing date for nominations is Monday 5th December 2022.